This category is applicable to a range of floor coverings and carpet underlays that are laid on top of a foundation of concrete or wooden beams and are not part of the building structure. This category establishes criteria for the following types of floor covering:

  1. Timber & Other Natural Materials
  2.  Polymers, Plastics & Foams
  3. Rubber
  4. Engineered Wood Products
  5. Resilient Flooring


Hard surfacing product applications that are suitable for vertical application and outdoor use such as ceramic tiles, quarried stone and polished concrete are not considered within the scope of this category.


The Standard includes relevant criteria across the product life cycle from raw material extraction through manufacturing, distribution, use, and end-of-life management and is applicable to both household and industrial settings.

Contact us to find out more about the full list of criteria and get your products certified